"Bad experiences for our daughter"

About: South Staffordshire And Shropshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust / Adult mental health

(as a parent/guardian),

We have had bad experience with these people. Our daughter suffers with epilepsy and because she was not treated properly when younger her health has being permanently damaged. When acutely unwell she has not recognized us and does not know who we are. She is still having seizure activity and is under neuropsychiatric services.

Our daughter became like this again a couple of months ago and and is now gone. She does not know us anymore and regards us as strangers. The proffesionals wont tell us if she is ok, in my opinion they seem to take great delight saying our daughter does not want to have anything to do with us, which I think is cruel. We made a complaint and basically they were dismissive and we felt they were sarcastic and patronising. I feel they are sarcastic and there is nothing we can do.

Our daughter has brother and sisters, we are all strangers to her and her feelings are of complete disregard. My real worry is if she has a bad seizure and they don't tell us, if she died would we know? It's a night mare. As this has happened where she had bad seizures and hospitalised, she became catatonic under their care and only then could we get her under the right services, neuropyschiatry. She eventually became better, and this has always been our worst fear and now it has happened. We feel neuropsychiatric services have become a lot worse over the years.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunita Roberts, Staff Governor, South Staffordshire and Shropshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

We were sorry to learn of your experience when engaging with our Trust. It is always our intention to provide excellent services to those in our care, but sometimes communication with loved ones can be difficult for staff, due to the wishes of an individual service user and maintaining their confidentiality which, I am sure you will appreciate, is paramount. Therefore, we would acknowledge your frustration, but equally hope you will understand the Trust’s position.

In general, we do try to resolve issues at a local team level and were disappointed that you remain dissatisfied, with what I have read from your feedback, must be a complex issue. However, you do have recourse to request a formal complaint and if you would like to pursue this course of action, please contact the Customer Services Department on 01785 783022 and a member of staff will be pleased to assist or, if you would prefer, email sssft.customerservices@nhs.net. However, I would advise you that the Trust would require the consent of the service user to share patient sensitive information with you, in line with statutory regulation.

It is with regret that we are unable to comment on your concern regarding neuropsychiatric services, as this is something which the Trust is not commissioned to provide.

  • olly thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too