"Our Review from pre-post birth"

About: Leighton Hospital

Midwife visits - Focus was more on paperwork that US and Baby Pre-Birth Hospital - Induction staff are Friendly supportive and happy to help Birth Hospital - Fantastic Midwife & Student midwife couldn't do enough, nothing was to much trouble Post-Birth Hospital - staff were busy but very happy to help and attentive Breast Feeding Support - very nice and helpful during the home visit. Post Birth Home Visits - Very Poor, 10 calls, answer machine messages, and txts during working hours and no reply. I had an infection and after 4 days of messaging Alsager midwife we went to GP, they then rang to say they need to re-schedule the next appointment despite the last visit been 10 days previous visit, they then came that day once they knew about the infection and we said we had been ringing them for days. when i asked why non of our messages calls or texts had been answered when we were concerned about C-Section surgery infection i got the reply:- we do not work 24/7. i replied i know that is why we have only called your mobile during working hours. I get the view that Alsager based midwife's just want an easy time and do as little as possible and when possible ether do not attend or ask you to ring ward 23. On the whole the medical service has been fantastic

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

As a trust, we are pleased that you have been happy with medical care received. We will share your positive comments with the clinical areas. We apologise, however, that you have been disappointed with the care provided by our community midwives. The reason we direct women to the ward or your GP via the voicemail message is because our community midwives work a variety of shifts to cover the service. This means that, even in office hours, the midwife may not be on duty. There is staff availability within the hospital setting 24 hours a day and therefore they can signpost women appropriately. I am sorry that this was not explained more clearly. We value your feedback and will discuss this with the community midwives. If you would like to discuss your experiences further please so not hesitate to contact the Community Team Leader South via the hospital switch board on 01270 255141. Niccy (Nichola) Jones, Community Midwifery Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful