"Hopeless booking procedure"

About: Croydon University Hospital

I was referred to have a ultrasound scan at this hospital by my GP, but I was not able to make the date my appointment. Subsequently I called twice to the telephone number they gave me to contact them to try reschedule for another appointment. Each time the receptionist just said they can not make booking over the phone and that they have to send another appointment date by post. I waited two weeks & as I missed my appointment, the hospital finally send me a letter saying I could loose my slot as I did not make another booking. I emailed them to explain the situation but as usual there is no response from the hospital. Finally I have to personally go and make a booking at Purley Memorial Hospital which they did on the spot. I found the whole process very frustrating and the Croydon Uni Hospital performance totally unsatisfactory. I would never try to use this hospital again if they can not even manage to sort out a simple appointment. Avoid their service at all cost!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints, Croydon Health Services NHS Trust

Dear Tang

I was very sorry to read of the difficulties you experienced with booking your scan and am pleased that this was resolved by staff at Purley War Memorial Hospital.

I have passed on your concerns to the senior management covering the booking team and asked that they look into the issues you have raised. If you have any further problems or would like to provide more information, please contact our PALS office on 020 8401 3210 or at pals@croydonhealth.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful