"Once again my mother has been ..."

About: The Princess Royal Hospital (Telford)

(as a relative),

What I liked

Once again my mother has been admitted to the deplorable Princess Royal Hospital. She had a terrible experience as an in-patient there in January this year, being bullied by staff, to the point where she was terrified. A complaint was made at the time about the incident and the staff concerned but it seems nothing has changed. She was admitted there on Sunday with a suspected heart attack, told not to take any of her own medication, but when she suffered an Angina attack today, there was no GNT spray to be found on the ward. She was naturally distressed and then accused by staff of being rude!!! She's 84!! The nurses need training in customer care - yes, CUSTOMER care because we are all their customers. I don't live in Telford - thank God - but I have to endure the long distance stress (my sister is Mum's main carer) of my family not being kept informed.

What could be improved

Training in Customer Care - URGENTLY!!! Tell staff to stop moaning about the job. If they don't like it or can't do it, then leave. It's simple. The family of patient in the bed opposite are so concerned about their mother's welfare that they are taking turns to sleep there ALL NIGHT! If that's not an indication of the level of concern people have, I don't know what is.

Anything else?

The stress of having a relative in The Princess Royal is unreal. The staff are even rude to each other. For the love of Mike, do something to change it!! The local paper, The Shropshire Star, can list an absolute litany of distressing events and occurrances that should make every member of staff there hang their heads in shame.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Princess Royal Hospital

Thank you for providing comments about the Princess Royal Hospital. We aim to provide high quality services for all of our patients, and are disappointed that you did not find this to be the case.

Since this national website is anonymous your contact details are not shared with the hospital. This means that we cannot easily look into the issues that you have raised. We are always grateful for the comments and complaints that we receive as these help us to continue to improve the quality of services we offer, so we would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01952 282888 so that we can look into this in more detail. More information about how to make comments, compliments and complaints about our services can also be found on our website at www.sath.nhs.uk

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on our services.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful