"Felt like a bulk production line with no..."

About: Southmead Hospital

It is a sad inditement on a place that should be looking after you as individuals that fairly soon into the process you become just an NHS number. You have no assigned member of staff to get to know you and each appointment you get another member of staff you have not met before. I strongly recommend to research fertility clinics before paying anything out. BCRM has no "on duty" counsellor and becomes clueless when patients are upset on treatment days. If I was not an NHS patient I would be demanding a counsellor and regular pro-active calls from the centre, but they let the customer do everything and have to be pushed and poked continously to get things done. I personally am not happy having a phone line to some random nurse who has never met me as part of the service. I would want a person I get to know and trust that could answer all non urgent calls without having to go through everything each and every time on the phone about my background. I feel sorry for the staff. They obviously are working at maximum capacity to deal with the demand, but I recommend if you are paying out large sums of money to a fertility clinic look elsewhere. This is impersonal and a factory line.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Anonymous – I am sorry that you have felt unsupported and dissatisfied with the service from the Bristol Centre for Reproductive Medicine. No patient whether they are funded by the NHS or privately should ever feel they are just a number and it was with sadness that I learned this was your experience. Your comments have been shared with the Centre to allow improvements in the support to be made. Kind Regards – Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful