About: Queen Charlotte's Hospital

I delivered my baby at Queen Charlottes in May 2015. The midwife was very inexperienced and had to seek guidance from fellow staff members which led to a painful birth. The obstetrician was rough, arrogant and had no respect for the birthing process or a labouring woman. They performed an internal examination in the midst of a contraction without my consent and didn't stop until I screamed at them and the other members of staff who were present. After the birth, I was unable to walk due to blood loss and was left to sit in pools of blood. The midwives tried to deliver a high level of care but they are so understaffed. The communication is poor and the midwives were unaware of my situation and with every shift change I was telling the midwives what I needed and what had happened. I was extremely swollen and in a great deal of pain, I was bed bound for 7 days. 9 days after the birth I was urged by a community midwife to go back to the hospital immediately as my sutures had failed, in their words "the worst perineum I have seen in a long time". On day 11 I was re-sutured under an epidural and have had to attend the hospital for several check ups since. I believe my stitches failed due to the obstetricians lack of care. If you have to attend this hospital know exactly what you want and be forward in asking for it! Terrible!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Charlotte's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very concerned to read of your experience and we sincerely apologise for the distress you have been caused. You have raised significant concerns that we need to be able to investigate and respond to as soon as possible. A senior midwife would also like to speak with you about your aftercare. We hope you will contact out PALS Team so we can progress this pals@imperial.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful