"The only thing I liked was the ..."

About: Bedford Hospital South Wing

(as a relative),

What I liked

The only thing I liked was the day my father left this place to go to a rehabilitation hospital.

What could be improved

I really don't know where to start but after visiting my father for 1 month in this hospital I went and took out private healthcare for my whole family as it scared me so much that i may end up in this place at some point during my life.

The nursing care with the exception of maybe a couple of nurses was extremley poor. There were never enough available and the buzzer was often left for long amounts of time before anyone came. I actually visited on one occasion and found my father laying in a wet gown, after asking a nurse if he could be changed as soon as possible i was told someone would be there in a minute, just over one hour later my husband went again and asked and was just handed a clean gown and told to put it on ourselves, we explained he needed washing as it was urine on his gown only to be told there were wash bowls in the room on the left and we could get warm water at the sink on the ward, we were left to to wash and dress a very ill and immobile patient lying in his bed. I also had to bring antibacterial floor wipes to clean the urine on the floor around the chair my father sat in during the day as he had to use a bottle to go to the toilet and found this difficult and often leaked quite alot on the floor which he was left to sit in . when i complained to the sister i was asked whether he ate his breakfast in the chair or in the bed, when i said usually the chair she said well that's the reason the cleaner can't clean around his chair as she comes in the morning and if he is sitting in the chair she leaves this area. I can't express how disgusted i am, i could go on forever about the lack of any help during feeding, one man reliving himself on the floor as he had waited so long for a comode that never came and the list goes on. Bedford hospital YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED!!

We will all get old at some point and this is how we can expect to be treated without dignity or compassion, someone in the way of staff chitchats and tea breaks. God help us!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bedford Hospital South Wing

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Bedford Hospital NHS Trust's NHS Choices site.

If you have not yet done so, we would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01234 795814 or email pals@bedfordhospital.nhs.uk to discuss the issues and concerns you have raised.

By contacting PALS and providing them with your details, staff will be able to look into the concerns you have raised about standards of care and ensure any issues are addressed.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful