"Poor coordination"

About: Royal Free Hospital / Breast surgery

(as the patient),

I agree with another reviewer on the NHS site (which keeps crashing when I try to post my review! ) that "if they could just co-ordinate between departments a little better, and perhaps look at their letter-posting procedures, then a lot less of my time and theirs would have been wasted! "

It was incredible to me how poorly the doctors / front desk & schedulers (on a different floor) coordinated. I thought that I was booked for a biopsy -- but when I showed up for my appointment, had only been scheduled for an ultra-sound. Then what was supposed to be a post-surgery consultation was actually scheduled for several days before the surgery.

Letters confirming appointments were routinely posted several days after the appointments themselves. I was impressed by how polite the receptionists were (no small feat when the waiting room was over-crowded -- often standing-room only -- and running hours behind).

I never saw the same doctor twice, and often what I was told (about the risks of a particular procedure, for example) was contradictory. I nearly always felt rushed during appointments, and never quite trusted that I would get the care I needed unless I fought for it.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Communications Team, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Communications Team

Hi JennyNW3, thanks for your review and we're sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our trust. We would like to talk to you further so that we can find out more about which clinic you were in and the errors that were made so that we can improve on your experience in the future. If you would be happy to talk to us, please do email us on rf.communications@nhs.net so that we can get in touch. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful