"Left to miscarry my child."

About: Rosie Hospital

I started to bleed at 11 weeks in a Sunday, managed to see an out of hours doctor at Ely hospital. The doctor said they would Pass on my information when I went in for an assessment on the Monday they hadn't revived anything. They reviewed me, they said I would have a scan then changed their mind. Then said I would again. They then had a student docotor feel internally for my cervix. They couldn't see if it was open or not, that to me would ring alarm bells and I would have followed with a scan just to make sure Because they was unsure about my cervix. They continued to let me go. I asked about having a scan because I was worried. They then said they wasn't doing scans that day. I did see one lady go I'm for a scan. Which told me they couldn't be asked. I went home. The next day I rang my doctor to see if the revived my notes. They did and they were very sympathetic. They told me they were disgusted that they wanted me to wait till my 12 week scan. By this time I was bleeding for 3 days. My doctor managed to get me a scan on the Wednesday. I'm very thankful for this. On the day of the scan which was the Wednesday. I found out I was having a miscarriage. There was no baby. I was distraught. They wanted me to wait till My 12 week scan to find out I wasn't going to have a baby. So they would have let me bleed for a week and a bit. Such bad practice. I would have sat there with all the mummies to be getting their pictures and I wouldn't have had one to take home. I in the end decided to have the surgery management of miscarridge. I have the operation on the 6th of July. The date my 12 week scan would have been. Bit a slap in the face. I think I've been through enough. It's a horrible situation which was dragged for no reason. I wasn't priority. I wasn't anyone to them. Really felt like the help wasn't there. I feel let down. I had to suffer longer. I'm glad for My doctor giving them a push. Like I said if they didn't organise me a scan. I would have been sitting their with all the mummies to be getting their pictures. Something needs t be done.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rosie Hospital

Thank you for letting us know about your experiences at The Rosie Hospital. I am very sorry to learn about the distressing time you have been through, and that you felt that you were not treated in a caring and timely manner. We are investigating the issues you raise and will respond to you fully as soon as we are able. Complaints and PALS Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful