"Extremely disappointed"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

So far I have been waiting 6 hours for my meds so I can actually go home after being here since Wednesday. I've now been charged over £40 on a bill that needed to be paid today which I can't do while stuck here waiting!!!! I came in as an emergency so I don't have any belongings with me. The staff in a n e and on the wards as well as the surgical team have been spot on its just the pharmacy is diabolical!!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your positive experience of our Emergency Department and Surgical ward, thank-you for taking the time to do so. I am sorry that you have needed to raise concerns about our pharmacy service, these were passed onto the team on the 6th of July. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a mixed visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals. You can either contact me (Meg Davey) on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful