"Smoking Problems"

About: Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

The hospital and staff are wonderful. Treated with kindness and respect, greeted by staff I already knew as a returning friend. I love these guys each and every one - despite what they have to do to me. My issues with the hospital are regarding the behaviour of other patients and visitors. Although there are No Smoking notices everywhere - and I do mean everywhere, this prohibition was utterly disregarded. As we had to wait longer than usual due to an emergency in the department, we opted to sit outside in the open air being as the day was so very warm at 30°+. Unfortunately we could not find anywhere either north side or south side that was free of cigarette smoke. At every seat, at every picnic table and even on the grass directly in front of the no Smoking notices were patients and visitors blatantly smoking. There was no area free of this disgusting smoke where we could relax. It was obviously not being policed. When we spoke to staff at the clinic about the issue, they agreed that smoking outside in proximity to the building was a constant problem, but that no one did anything about it. Frankly I find that unacceptable in this day and age. I hasten to add that I did not see any staff smoking. All the smokers appeared to be visitors or patients. Yes, even patients dragging round drips or in hospital wheelchairs had been placed outside to smoke - close to no smoking notices. There are other health authorities that will not allow patients to smoke anywhere - and I feel that this is one area where The Norwich and Norfolk Hospital could do better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Janice Bradfield, Senior Communications and Membership Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry that you were not able to find a smoke free area when you needed to sit outside. We take on board your comments and they will be passed to our director of nursing. We have tried a number of approaches to reduce smoking on the site, including walkabouts to speak to patients and visitors who are smoking on site. We recognise that it remains a problem and will endeavour to do better.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful