"Do Not Give Birth Here"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

If I ever hear a woman intending to use the maternity services at this hospital I will actively try to dissuade her from doing so. This hospital should remove all signs relating to the support of breastfeeding as it most certainly does not support you in any professional manner. If you are a cow you might feel quite satisfied with the filthy postnatal wards as it is like a cattle market in there. It is horrifically understaffed with inappropriate seating for women that have just given birth let alone breastfeeding mothers and my bed was broken. I cannot fault the care I received during labour, but as soon as my labour was over any adequate care ended. I am still suffering mental distress from my experiences at this hospital eight months on. The postnatal care I received here has severely tarnished my memory of the first couple of days of my first baby's life, thankfully my physical health has not been limited. I experienced: Lack of breastfeeding support when at my most vulnerable (crying in the middle of the night as I could not get my baby to latch on only to have syringes tossed onto the bed and told to hand express and not seeing the midwife again until the next morning) Ultimately following instructions in the welcome pack to the ward to breastfeed Inappropriately dealt with bleed Wake ups in the night for irregular observations Doctor saying they would return to discuss my health and treatment and never doing so Broken bed No chair to breastfeed comfortable in Had to ask for a new sheet for my baby's cot Filthy bathroom facilities Lack of staff Overheated wards My baby's security tag also set off the alarm when we went to close to the doors, no action was taken to see if a baby was leaving the ward

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and we would firstly like to apologise for the distress this has caused. We are concerned to hear about the lack of support as well as the issues with the facilities. It may help to talk to someone about the issues you have raised and we would be grafeful if you can contact our PALS Team to discuss your concerns, they can also look into some of the problems that you encountered. Please call them on 0121 627 2747. They provide a friendly and confidential service. Your comments will be passed on to the teams involved in your care. Thank you for taking the time to feedback and for bringing these issues to our attention. With kind regards, Birmingham Women's Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful