"Intimidating manner"

About: Royal Cornhill Hospital / General Psychiatry

(as the patient),

I was admitted to Brodie ward after attempting to kill myself. I was placed on observations! To my horror the nurse who was supposed to be observing me never took her eyes off her mobile phone! She swung on the chair outside my room like she was on her holidays. When she did speak to the other nurses every word was a swear word. She had a very intimidating manner! I was to afraid to make a complaint during my stay or on discharge in case she tracked me down. Surely you should be addressing unprofessional staff as they are taking away from the other hard working caring staff who for some reason (possibly staff shortages) do cover for colleagues like the one named above! I felt like an inconvenience.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Linda Oldroyd, Nurse Consultant, Person Centred Care, NHS Grampian

Dear Patient

I am very sorry to hear that you have been unwell and that our staff behaved in an unprofessional manner. I do know that the service concerned has a policy relating to close observation. It does not seem that this policy was being adhered to by the member of staff concerned.

I really do understand why you would be frightened to make a complaint whilst you are still receiving care or even at the point of discharge but it would be good for us if we were able to address the behaviours you observed.

If you would like to contact me I will of course maintain your confidentiality. If you prefer not to there are still lessons for the ward to learn in terms of how close observations should be undertaken.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I will forward to the service concerned and ask them to respond.

I can be contacted on 01224 558449 or by emalil at loldroyd@nhs.net

I hope your health is better now.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Linda Oldroyd, Nurse Consultant, Person Centred Care, NHS Grampian

Dear patient

The Nurse Manager from the Adult Mental Health Directorate has provided this response:

"I am sorry that your experience of contact with one of the nurses on Brodie Ward did not meet your expectations and that you felt unable to raise your concerns during your stay in hospital. I have passed the information you posted on to the Senior Charge Nurse in Brodie Ward as we welcome every opportunity to learn from the experience of all of the patients who use our service. I am disappointed to hear that you did not feel able to raise your concerns directly with the nurse in charge during your stay, however, I can assure you that we will investigate your complaint fully if you felt able to provide us with specific details using the complaints system."

As before, if you would prefer to remain anonymous, you are most welcome to contact me directly.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful