"Lack of respect on ward j47"

About: St James's University Hospital

I was not being treated with respect at all from the time I arrived with suspected appendicitis up until the next night I was not given pain killers for my pain I was ignored on every level and was not informed about what was going on I was told you will go to theatre anytime now then 2 days waiting I finally went at 10.30 pm I had to keep asking what was going on I asked 3 times for pain killers reply was ok Disgustingly disappointed

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear DD2015,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience and write to us, I was very sorry to read that you feel you had such a poor experience whilst in our care.

I have passed your comments onto the matron for ward 47 at St James Hospital and asked that the issues you have raised are addressed.

It is our priority to ensure that the trust provides safe, quality and effective care to all of our patients and I am extremely sorry that you feel you this did not occur on this occasion. It would be very beneficial to our services and the experiences of future patients if we could discuss this with you.

If you would be happy to give further feedback, please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2066261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net.

With kind regards


Senior nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful