"Holum surgery. I am very grateful to the surgeon..."

About: Maidstone District General Hospital

Well I had this surgery three weeks ago. I was told it was a one hour operation and would be longer if larger, and that I would find it painful to wee for a couple of weeks with some blood passing through for a couple of weeks. The procedure took two and a half hours and the catheter had to be re-inserted and left in because a nurse took it out in the middle of the night as it was leaking, without consulting the doctor. The nurse may have been annoyed because there was no cleaning broom for the floor and had to put down loads of paper towels. It was not the procedure that was stated it should be. The doctor was supposed to see me later in the day and make a decision in ward round. I still am not sure whether I actually had an infection or not, but I have been burnt from the inside to out along the tract and around the sack. The pain has been excruciating and never before have I experienced such things. My penis has swollen and I have been unable to walk for three weeks and my penis has changed colour and I have been unable to sleep without massive painkillers, but awake every two hours. It is still swollen and painful but is improving. I am not complaining. I am very grateful to the surgeon who did a long a difficult procedure and today I am weeing normally and I have not done this for years. However I was thrown out on my own devises and much to early. I had to go to accident and emergency to have the catheter removed and once more due to the pain of infection. A week ago I visited my local GP and he said if the problem got any worse I was on the border of critical and should call the emergency services if it got worse and stay in hospital. It is now starting to improve but I still dare not go out. This is my experience and it may turn out to be yours. It is worth the awfulness, but am still annoyed by the aftercare from the hospital, and being left to my own devises on my own at home, but this is the UK NHS service and you get what you pay for and I made no direct payment.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maidstone District General Hospital

Dear Mr Solomons Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent surgery at Maidstone Hospital and for your kind comments regarding the surgeon and his team. We were sorry to learn that your aftercare following the operation was not satisfactory and that you were experiencing discomfort for longer than expected. If you would like to discuss this further, please telephone the PALS office on 01622 224960 or email us at mtw-tr.palsoffice@nhs.net. With Kind Regards the PALS team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful