"Travelling experience to and from hospital"

About: Crosshouse Hospital

(as the patient),

No ambulance available for 6pm ferry then change of plan, go 7.20pm ferry then change of plan - to be air lifted - no helicopter available - crews changing shift eventually left Brodick for Crosshouse 8pm. As I had notified my daughter at Kirkoswald that I would be on the first ferry -I then had to keep notifying each change she had already left for Crosshouse.

On arrival, I had wrist band put on giving my address of 10 yrs. ago. I have been in hosp. 4 times from Arran and each time I have to correct the Dr. and address.

After pain was identified I was discharged which created another nightmare as I could not use ambulance as I had no escort. Eventually got patient transfer vehicle to Ardrossan, but as it delivered other patients en route I got to Ardrossan as gangway was being lifted. Had to wait for next ferry. No transport at other side waited 30mins for a bus.

I face operation. How can I ensure safe travel to and from?

Why when told of changes of circumstances are they not registered by administration?

I have no complaints of the crews and staff who did their very best for me my complaint is with the system.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran We are preparing to make a change

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear corrie,

You have not had your troubles to seek regarding the transport side of things and it must have really taken it out of you because it took so long. Travelling issues between Arran and the mainland to attend health related appointments are raised occasionally. I am sure if you call the Scottish Ambulance service on 0300 123 1236 they will do their very best to accommodate your travel needs for your operation and I hope this works out well for you.

Regarding your name band and the old address, this is just not good enough and I am sorry, I do not know why this is the case. If you would like to let me know your details on my private email or phone number, I will make sure it is changed for you. We will also look into why this has been a problem. This may seem a stupid question, but has your GP changed your notes on Arran? I am sure you have informed the practice, but if they have not changed it on your notes, each referral will still have the old address.

I would be grateful if you could contact me at eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk on or call me on 01563 826222 and I will check this for you. I would need to know your name and date of birth to look into this further. We will take any learning from it too and share as appropriate.

I can only say how sorry I am that this has been your experience and I hope you do not have to experience this again.

Best wishes


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful