"No hot meals provided for parents ??"

About: Conquest Hospital

My 6month daughter was transfered from Eastbourne General Hospital to Conquest yesturday early evening with suspected Bronchiolitis. She has previously spent a week there when she was 2months old with the same condition but a lot more server. I have to say I can never fault the care that me, my family & daughter received. The nurses/ docs & even house keeping staff were always so kind & caring towards us, offering us cups of tea when u can see they're run off they're feet. One night during our previous stay they set me up a bed in the neighbouring day ward just so o could get some sleep which meant they had they're hands full with my daughter. So it's apparent I have no complaints about the care she's been give, but & a big but is why on earth arnt parents of on the ward entitled to a hot meal??? Like me & many others there were only one parent on the ward due to having other children at home & partners caring for those. To be able to get a hot meal would mean leaving our sick children & then trekking up to either the cafe or the restaurant to spend a ridiculous amount of money just to get a hot meal. I understand breast feeding mums do get this, but what about the rest of us? I find this utterly disgusting & extremely unfair. Unfortunately just being offered fruit or some toast, cupper just doesn't cut it. So we have all paediatric care at conquest & when you live in Eastbourne is a complete nightmare & very costly, the icing on the cake is the parents don't get hot meals, ridiculous. I hope this ludicrous situation gets resolved.

Story from NHS Choices


Response from Conquest Hospital

Please accept our apologies for not responding to your posting earlier but also be assured that we take all comments from families very seriously and have looked into your query by sharing your comments with key staff for consideration. Unfortunately, we are unable to provide hot meals to all of our visiting parents, however, you may be pleased to know that the ward have reviewed their policy and are now offering meals to parents who stay/sleep on the unit during their baby's stay. For parents who visit during the day, but return home after visiting, we provide kitchen facilities to heat meals during the day that they can bring in from home. Thank you for letting us know you views, we shall ensure your posiitive feedback about the care you and your daughter recieved is shared with staff. It's always encouraging for staff to receive good feedback about the care they provide. If you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) who will be happy to help. They can be contacted on 01424 758090 or by email at esh-tr.PALSH@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read