"unprofessional and rude staff"

About: Newham General Hospital

My experience of antenatal visit was really disappointing. I came to maternity section twice and every time I came across rudeness and bad customer service. From what I read from the reviews everyone is complaining about the same thing but nothing has changed. Receptionists and midwives are not trained how to speak to public what makes all pregnant women uncomfortable and stress what they should avoid. My first visit with midwife was on the lowest level I could imagine. Midwife promoted smoking shisha. Was eating nuts while taking my medical history and spilled them all over the keyboard and next to my arm. I was told off for late booking. When I tried to explain that it took over a month to book an appointment with GP in forest gate and when I called the maternity section in a meantime receptionist told me I can't book appointment with midwife directly it has to be done through GP. And now midwife told me it's my fault I didn't book the appointment with tthem earlier. Unfortunately I wasn't even able to explain what happened as they were not really interested. For every question I had I got mumbling in response. The only helpful person was midwife's assistant but I could speak to them when midwife was out of the room because assistant was interrupted by midwife every time they tried to explain something to me. When I told midwife I have dysplasia they didn't even know what it is and how to spell it. Next time receptionist had no manner as usual and I couldn't find out from anyone how to change my midwife. I came with my boyfriend and pointed out my midwife - as he described they were in a state. Their uniform was in some fluids from the top to bottom which came from their mouth with a bits of food on it. No one was helpful apart from ultrasound operator who unfortunately didn't know the answer for my question. I agree with most of the comments about the attitude and tutting what I find rude. The only good feedback I read was positive was about sergeants and when women had c section. I have no conditions and probably won't need a c section so I reckon I will have to deal with the attitude or to change the hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newham General Hospital

It is very upsetting to read that you found your antenatal visit disappointing and that our staff were unprofessional and rude. Please accept our sincere apologies. All of our staff should be acting professionally towards patients and should show them the compassion and respect they deserve. There are some issues that you have raised that we would like to look into in more detail. To identify what occurred during your visit we ask that you contact us direct to discuss this with you. You can do this by contacting our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) at pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk or by calling 020 3594 2040. Kind regards Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful