"Antenatal consultants appointment"

About: Newham General Hospital

Really hope I don't have to give birth in this hospital. General manner of the staff minus the consultant comes off quite rude and as someone that struggles with anxiety I did not feel comfortable in the slightest. On top of that the nurses didn't allow my partner in the room while my blood tests were being done,making me take an instant dislike to the service and question whether they would even allow him in the delivery room if I have to give birth there. Had to wait up to an hour for a consultant and felt it was quite difficult to get to from barking.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newham General Hospital

Dear Hayley We are very sorry to read of your experience. We apologise for the rudeness of our staff. This behaviour is not acceptable at any time especially when you were feeling anxious – you should have been reassured. We have forwarded your feedback over to the antenatal team but in the meantime, if you would like to discuss the concerns you have raised here please do contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) at pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk or by calling 020 3594 2040. Kind regards Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful