"appointment times"

About: The Christie

I have now received 7 Chemotherapy treatment session since 13 April 2015. In every one of the appointments there has been as been delayed in excess of one hour. Yesterday, 22 June 2015 my appointments were as follows: 8 am Blood Samples (blood taken at 08:10), Appointment with Oncology Consultant 9 am (called in at 8:50 am) which lasted less than 15 minutes. 12 noon my appointment for my chemotherapy treatment, called in at 14:00 hrs my 90 minute infusion was started at 14:20 hrs and completed at 15:55 hrs. The bleeper commenced at 15:55 hrs but no-one attended me for 26 minutes at which point the flush was applied for 15 minutes I left the treatment area at 16:45 hrs I travel 43 miles to the Christie, leaving my home at 6:30 am and I returned last evening at 6:00 pm, some eleven hours 30 minutes later. Coping with stage 4 cancer is difficult enough but coping with nearly 12 hour days is, in my opinion, unacceptable The appointment arranging department is clearly and completely not fit fir purpose. If this had been a one-off, I would have understood that systems do breakdown but this is consistent and is experienced by most of the patients I have spoken to. The reception / admin team cannot offer much help and are under stress when asked 'how much behind time are the appointments today?' Something really has to change.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Christie

We thank Mr Barton taking the time to give us his feedback. We were sorry to hear about his experience and appreciate how long and tiring his treatment days must be. We were pleased to have had the opportunity to discuss these concerns further with him and we hope that he feels we have addressed these.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful