"Very disappointed!"

About: Good Hope Hospital

After being diagnosed with gestational diabetes in my second pregnancy I decided to have my baby at good hope hospital after the diabetic team had been brilliant all through my pregnancy. I had an elective c section April 2015 the surgeon and their team were brilliant especially the one member of staff who really put me at ease as it was my first c section. The midwives however not so great, once my husband left for the night I was very much left to it expected to bend,stretch and lift hours after having the c section which was very painful and uncomfortable. One midwife in particular was awful I had problems feeding as my little girl had reflux (which no one picked up until I got home) they came in I was crying because I was exhausted and my little girl kept been sick and not wanting to feed they told me I was winding her wrong and walked out leaving me upset, I also had to keep reminding the staff that we both needed our sugars testing this seemed an inconvenience to them and they left us 2 hours before coming to check after I had to press my buzzer twice! The next day I was told I could go home I was so happy as I knew my husband would look after me better than the care here which was true, however looking at it now was an overnight stay in hospital long enough for a c section? Considering I was in hospital 3 days at heartlands hospital with my son for having a 3rd degree tare? Also after leaving hospital I had awful afterpains which if I would of had in hospital I could of got stronger medication, days later my daughter had lost to much weight and ending up been admitted back to hospital with bad reflux which if she would of been monitored while I was In hospital would of been sorted. I was on the ward underneath the children's ward I think it was ward 6. It is safe to say I would defiantly not recommend good hope maternity or the children's ward but that's another issue.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marie Helebert, Patient Services Officer, Patient Services, Heart of England Foundation Trust

Dear Madam

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Good Hope Hospital.

Firstly may I congratulate you and your family on the safe arrival of your daughter and for

your positive comments regarding your Caesarean Section and the consultant and staff involved are most appreciated.

I am sorry to read that you did not feel supported by the midwives on your ward and particularly when you were having difficulties with feeding your new daughter. You describe feeling you were perhaps discharged a little early in comparison to your previous hospital labour and delivery. I sincerely hope that your little girl is now recovering and doing well.

I would very much like to look into your experience in more detail and raise these matters with the Midwifery Team, but would require some more information to enable me to do this.

Could I please ask you to contact me either by telephone or email: 0121 424 0808 and


I would like to reassure you that we take seriously any issues our patients raise with us and we value your feedback. It is very important to us as it helps us to identify where we do things well, but also enables us to identify things may not work as well and which affect our patients and families. We can then make changes were possible to promote and ensure a more positive patient experience.

I hope that this is acceptable and I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

With kind regards

Marie Helebert

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful