"outpatient appointment"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

my sister was seriously ill on wards 3 and 4 in December She was discharged middle of January Was told outpatient appointment in 6 weeks Still waiting!!!!!!! We have no contact numbers so looks like we can forget her follow up Its a shambles No communication at all between staff One or two nurses incompetent One nurse attempted to put a cannula in my sisters arm It obviously hit a nerve as my sister got excruciating pain radiating all up and down her arm and her thumb started twitching She's now left with numbness from her thumb to her elbow If we'd known this wasn't going to improve we'd have made a complaint at the time but you think it will improve but sadly not Im a retired nursing sister and am horrified at this lack of care and follow up after such a serious illness

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your sisters experiences on ward 3 & 4 and the difficulty you have had in contacting the Manchester Heart Centre to arrange a follow up appointment. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. Please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk and we will be happy to discuss this further with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust