About: Wharfedale Hospital

After my daughter woke up with a pain in her shoulder on saturday morning,we took a trip out to otley on Sunday.When we arrived it was rammed.The person behind the desk said it was going to be at least a 2 hour wait. After waiting 3 hours we finally got seen to.When we went in the nurse had a 'i don't want to be here' attitude from start to finish, the nurse gave my daughter a quick examination and insisted she didn't need a x-ray. I explained that my daughter broke her collar bone last year and said it was the same kind of pain,the nurse carried on repeating and shouting in my face that my daughter didn't need a x-ray. My daughter came out of the hospital upset because she was in alot of pain.The nurse said that if the pain persisted to go to our GP. I am not happy at all with how i got spoken to today.I will not be returning to Otley hospital in the future.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you had a distressing time whilst in our care; the level of service that you have described is not what we wish to offer.

I have passed your post onto the Matron for Wharfedale General Hospital and have asked that they address these concerns however due to lack of details in your post we would not be able to address this with the member of staff concerned therefore I would ask that you contact the trusts Patient, Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net to discuss this incident further.

With kind regards

Rosie Horsman

Senior Nurse

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful