"Not a pleasant experience"

About: Hairmyres Hospital / General Medicine

(as the patient),

Not going into detail of what was wrong with me, but maaaan I feel the nurses are really ignorant. I feel they think of patients as numbers and that's it.

In excruciating pain and ask them for help to which I got a "Suffer it" I had to wait 5 hours for pain relief at some point aswell.. They told me they can't help because its busy then you look out the door and the nurses are drinking coffee and tea and eating cake..

When you go to a hospital you go to get better not sit there in agony in an isolated environment which isn't your home, You would think the attitudes of women or men in that line of work would have caring hearts - Erm NOPE! I feel they just don't care.

Also the parts of the hospital I saw were filthy I moved to a room and the bum washer was full of dirty nappies.. Not exactly pleasant when you had been throwing up for about 4 days.

Anyway the nurses at Hairmyers appeared bitter and angry.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Susan Friel, Chief of Nursing Services, Hairmyres Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Susan Friel

Dear LaurenB

I'm sorry you had such a bad experience when you were in Hairmyres Hospital.

I would be keen for us to pick this up with you dierctly, so that we can share your feedback with the team who looked after you, and also so that we can look at the standards of cleanliness in the ward you were in. I don't want any of our patients to feel that they are being ignored, and not getting pain relief, or that they are in a ward that is not clean.

Could you please phone Michelle Nobes, Patient Affairs Manager. You'll get her through switchboard on 01355 585 000. Michelle will then be able to get the details of your admission, and we can pick up the things you've raised.

Many Thanks


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful