"Speech and language"

My daughter attended speech and language therapy before Christmas and through my own fault I missed her review at the beginning of the year due to a move. The speech and language therapist was always helpful, friendly and professional. I had to rebook the review, the earliest I could get one was June. This was fine, the nurse/ member of staff I spoke to, to organise this, said because of my circumstances I could have the review at my house. It is not uncommon for this to be done in certain circumstances. My appointment was today, Tuesday 9th June at 10:45. I waited until 11:30 before calling and asking why no one had shown up. I was then told that no such agreement was made. "You spoke to me and I would have never said something so ridiculous" is what was said to me. I wrote down the whole conversation when the whole appointment was made so I know I am correct. My sister and partner were also present while I was on the phone all them weeks ago. The member of staff then proceeded to say, " don't drag your children up here if it's going to stress you out so much" I was discusted with their tone. I then asked if I could get an appointment in Boston for speech therapy. I was then told "well obviously" I feel I have been made, not only to look like a liar but also like an idiot. I have never experienced such disrespect over the phone by someone who is meant to be a head of a department. Especially someone who is meant to be working with children The tone of their words do not come across in this complaint. But I will never be using the Johnson again if I can help it. I have never listened to the many other people who have told me such bad things about the Johnson hospital. I feel stupid for not listening now, My daughter will have to wait even longer now. Thank you for your lack of professionalism, disrespect, sarcastic language and demeaning tone.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Johnson Community Hospital

Thank you for contacting us to tell us about your experience . We are truly sorry for the difficulties you experienced and have looked at what you told us very carefully and spoken to all the staff involved. We would be happy to speak with you individually and share the details of our investigation. If you would like to pursue this please contact LHNT.LCHSComplaints@nhs.net or 01529 220356 and our Complaints Team will arrange this for you. We take any concerns around how we speak to and respond to our patients very seriously and clients concerns when they contact us and we would very much like to discuss this with you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read