"Receptionists need to learn some manners"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

I was recently referred to the fertility clinic for an initial appointment with a consultant and a number of diagnostic tests. The clinical staff i have seen so far including the consultant and the staff within the radiology/ultrasound department have all been extremely helpful and professional. The staff that performed the HSG and pelvic ultrasound in particular were lovely showing professional empathy and providing me with relevant and clear information However the attitude of the receptionists /secretaries has been on the verge of being very rude. Even calling up to book the HSG appointment was greeted with a "why the hell are you phoning" me type attitude - i then got snapped at that they would write to me and phone was put down before any questions could be asked. The receptionists at the fertility clinic treat you as an annoyance and you really have to push to get them to be anyway helpful. A smile and friendly word can go a really long way in making what can be a very difficult and emotional experience that little bit better. They have a job to do and are busy but to quote an earlier review its not what you say its the way that you say it. I appreciate that they have many difficult patients to deal with and are extremely busy but I would ask them to think about how they would like to be spoken to if in a similar situation. The NHS has many problems but this issue is to do a lack of good manners

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience of our service. I have fed back your experience to the staff in the fertility department. We never want to be coming across as anything by helpful and professional, so this feedback will be useful for them to reflect upon. We are also doing some engagment with a customer services training team to ensure that our staff have the opportunity to have some training in this area. Again, thank you for your feedback, Amy Maclean, Head of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful