About: Queen Alexandra Hospital

I was told I have a possible blod clot and something else that they were unsure of. I was left waiting on a bed for 3 hours with no treatment however, due to extreme pain I did receive painkillers and the nurses who gave them to me were lovely. It took a further 3 hours before I was given blood thinning drugs. The doctor was unsure exactly what was wrong with me and didn't do any scans at all just bloods. The doctor then sent me home in the same condition I came in. Bad swelling to the whole of left leg, unbelievable pain, pain in hip, hot and cold spots on leg, unable to walk and unexplained bruising. I was told I may have rheumatoid problems but didn't know so see my gp to refer me. I can't walk to get to GPs, the pain is getting a lot worse and I have no idea what to do. They have left me scared, confused and not knowing where to go next or what to do. This is just 9 weeks after the birth of my son that was also awful due to the widwife rushing the labour, causing extreme extra pain, putting the baby and myself at risk, leaving me traumatised, not stitching me up properly and leaving sortly after. My daughter also attended out patients recently and had to have an MRI due to extreme migraines. I was told at our appointment all was clear. A few days ago I recieved an apology letter stating that the MRI showed up a cyst like structure but they forgot to check it. So I now have to go to my gp to get her refered to someone who can help. Thus waiting again and in the mean time my daughter repeatedly ends up immobilised in bed due to horrific pain. I'm appalled at this hospital for the treatment of my daughter and myself!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marion Brown, Head of Complaints and Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS), Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Beth

I'm sorry to hear that you and your daughter have had so many worries. We would like to try to help as much as we can so please contact us direct with all of your details.

You can email us at PHT.PALS@porthosp.nhs.uk and we'll get you the help and support you need.

Look forward to hearing from you.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Queen Alexandra Hospital

Hi Beth, thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that the nurses who looked after your pain management were lovely and that you were satisfied with their care. However, I am very sorry to read of your concerns about the medical treatment provided to you during your admission. We would really appreciate the opportunity to look into this further and hopefully get the answers that you need. Could you please therefore contact our PALS Team at: PHT.Pals@porthosp.nhs.uk or via the free phone on 0800 9176039 to allow them to discuss this further with you. With regard to your daughter, could you please also ask her to contact our PALS Team as we would not wish for her to continue be in uncontrolable pain. With best wishes Leanne Complaints Officer

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful