"One bad apple"

About: Kettering General Hospital

Although this is not my first visit to the Eye out patients department, the attitude of the nurse who checked my vision test was not what I expected. Their comments that you should be wearing glasses when I already knew I had developed CPO after under going double cataract surgery 3 yrs ago. The nurse made me feel that I was wasting the doctors time, because of the test of my looking through a set of pin holes made my vision better. It is not their position to tell patients what they think the problem is. If the very over heated waiting area was not so busy I would have made a complaint then. Thankfully the very helpful doctor was able to get my treatment sorted out very quickly and I am now looking forward to that day. The rest of the staff were polite and caring. It is a shame that this one nurse soured my appointment. I hope not to see this nurse again. Have not chosen a department as it is missing from the drop down box.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

I am very sorry that on your recent visit to the department you had comments passed which made you feel as though you were wasting the doctors time. As you say it is a shame that one person “soured your appointment” and this will be fed back to the staff in the department as it is not acceptable. Our aim is to ensure all patients have a pleasant experience when attending their appointments. I would not have been aware of this had you not posted your comment on the NHS website, so thank you for doing so as this can now be addressed. Pat Holmes Matron Ophthalmology

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful