"Surgical day unit"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

Apparently there were 75 surgical cases admitted the same day as I was and we all had to be there at 7 30 am, we were herded like sheep from one area to another and then were kept waiting for hours on end. When I was told that I was going to the pre op lounge I thought great it must be nearly my turn but no there were another 8 woman sat in a dismal ex ward all seated around a tiny table with a few tatty magasines on the table. A tiny TV was blaring with Jeremy Kyle, I can't stand Jeremy Kyle you would have to lie on your back to see the TV anyway as it was almost suspended from the ceiling. I couldnt read the magasines because I didn't have my reading glasses we weren't allowed to take any of our belongings in there. So I sat and twiddled my thumbs for hours. I was the last to go for surgery and was alone in that room for an hour and a half and didn't see a soul I was pacing the floor! I trained in this hospital many years ago and it saddens me to see how its run now, how a persons basic needs aren't met. Going in for surgery even as a day case is a very harrowing experience, surely you can make it more pleasurable for the people while they are waiting. Not everyone wants to see or hear a tv blaring, people should be encouraged to take something in with them to pass the time and should be allowed to take them through with them, ie a book, knitting, puzzle book. The room where you have to wait should be more inviting and staff should be popping in throughout the day to ensure that everyone is ok a few kind words wouldn't go amiss either. Why is it necessary to bring everyone in at once.? On the plus side the anaethatist and the Surgeon were wonderful and I cant thank them enough, the nurses in the recovery room were lovely too, however I felt that those in the recovery ward wanted you up and out of there as soon as possible they seemed so rushed and of course they were 75 patients in one day!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the NHS Choices website. We are sorry that your experience was not a positive one due to the length of time you waited prior to going in for surgery. We will share your comments with the team in the Day Case Unit so they can use these to try and make improvements to enhance overall patient experience. If you would like to discuss your concerns with a member of staff however, please contact our Help and Advice Service (contact details below) and they will be happy to liaise with the Theatre Directorate on your behalf. Email: Helpandadviceservice@chsft.nhs.uk Telephone: 0191 569 9855 or freephone 08005876513 Opening times: Monday – Friday 8 am – 5pm

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful