"Maternity Assessment Unit"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I attended the MAU yesterday with my relative who had been referred from the community Midwife. On arrival it was clear the unit was busy but the midwife was very helpful, compassionate and calm. Once the monitoring was complete we were asked to sit in chairs with other patients to wait in line to see the Dr. As we were patiently waiting a co-ordinator came and encouraged a handover of all patients and to work out their plans. This didn't happen in a side room it occurred next to the chairs full of patients. We heard a lot of confidential information about the patients on the unit and those due to come in. We also sat and listened to the co-ordinator be very dismissive about my relative stating send her home not for a Dr's review. They continued to discuss my relatives case and told the Dr not to see her to which the Dr said 'good as I didn't know what to do with her'! At this point the co-ordinator saw we were looking in dismay and shouted across the room we don't do anything for your complaint so you can go home. To which I was horrified at the lack of professionalism, dignity and confidentiality. I think this showed on my face and the co-ordinator came to sit next to us to discuss things further about the discharge. This was fairly informative but inappropriate and shouldn't have been discussed in front of other patients. There was an apparent lack of professionalism from senior staff members and my relative and I didn't leave very reassured. We felt like we were wasting their time yet we were sent their by the community team as they were concerned. It is very disappointing to see the apparent lack of patient centered care and compassion. Very disappointed with the service. It doesn't fill you with confidence of the service for the rest of my relatives pregnancy.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. I am so upset that you have had such a bad experience in my department. We deal with complaints very seriously and I am so sorry you had such a bad experience. We have been very busy during this month and haven't been able to use the theatre arrival lounge area due to it being full. We do try to maintain confidentiality at all times, but due to the design of the unit, this has proven difficult. We are continuing to address this issue to ensure it doesn't happen again. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to contact me by email: pauline.coser@uhl-tr.nhs.uk or by calling 0116 258 5917. Kind regards, Pauline Coser Ward Manager of MAU Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful