"very poor ante natal care"

About: The Princess Royal Maternity Unit / Maternity

(as the patient),

I joined the practice at 18 weeks into my pregnancy. After two losses this is an incredibly cautious experience for me.

At 20 weeks I first attended the midwife who didn't take the time to read through my notes and knew none of my back ground this I felt was unprofessional. After explaining my back ground I also raised that I had been feeling quite unwell recently. The midwife did not know what was wrong with me so took my bloods and told me to see my GP. This seemed satisfactory at the time. The midwife informed me that she would contact me via telephone no later than three days time to let me know if my blood results were okay and told me to seek a GP appointment. I phoned the GP practice and told there would be two week wait to see a doctor or I could phone up every morning at 8. 30am in an attempt to secure an appointment. It took me seven mornings of phoning to finally get an appointment. I was regularly told I could not be seen that day as there was only one GP available and if I had any problems see Maternity assessment.

Meanwhile I waited for my midwife to contact me regarding my blood results, she never did. When I asked her in my next appointment why she had not contacted me as she said she would, she said there was nothing wrong with my bloods so she didn't feel the need to phone me.

However, when I saw my GP the week before she said there were abnormalities and I was to be commenced in medication. Someone was wrong!

At my next appointment with my midwife I informed her again that I was still feeling very unwell and that my symptoms had got no better, she looked at me in a puzzled manner and told me that she still had no idea why and would refer me to maternity assessment. When she phoned maternity assessment to refer me she lied to the doctor on the the other end of the phone and said I had not raised feeling unwell before despite it saying in my notes for the previous appointment that I had. The doctor requested I be sent straight up. When I was leaving the midwife told me she wouldn't be arranging another appointment for me as I was seeing the consultant before our next appointment was due. Unbeknown to me I was due to have important blood tests at 28 weeks which has now been and gone and I can't get anyone to do them. The hospital and my GP state it is the midwifes job. But I can't get I contact with her to arrange appointment.

My final complaint is that when I went up to the hospital as referred the doctor seemed concerned that my midwife had not sent me earlier. I am now awaiting a 24 hour tape and and echocardiograph that I should have been booked in for weeks ago had my midwife told the doctors straight away that I was unwell. Instead she waited for 4 weeks and claimed I had never mentioned it. Thoroughly disappointed by the whole process and feel very let down by my midwife. I won't even get started on the amount of information she didn't give me about monitoring my babies movement, it was her student who finally remembered to tell me and provide me with a leaflet once I had already figured it out for myself

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear Glasgowmum2be,

I am so sorry to read that you have experienced these issues with your antenatal care - while this is a very special time for a mum to be, it can also be a time where there is extra worry over the health of you and your baby, therefore it is so important for you to feel confident in the people looking after you at this time. You have highlighted a number of issues around the communication you have had with your midwife which you point out have left you feeling let down in this regard and I am really sorry for this.

It is important for us to learn from all of the feedback that we receive from our patients, particularly where there are improvements we can make, and so it would be really helpful if you could contact me directly on lorna.gray@ggc.scot.nhs.uk. I can then put you in contact with the Lead Midwife for Community Services who is keen to talk with you in more detail about your experience and the concerns you raise here.

I hope to hear from you soon, and in the meantime wish you all the best with the rest of your pregnancy.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful