You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"Fertility Unit - What A Joke!! Do not recommend!"

About: Royal Derby Hospital

I am absolutely appalled at the way I was treated by the Consultant I saw who is the Fertility Lead. The consultant told me when I entered the room that they had already decided they couldn't help me, before they had even had a consultation with my partner and I, because my BMI was too high. The consultant made me feel extremely small and like I was wasting my time. How dare they make a judgement on whether my partner and I can get help to have children before they'd even met us and got a full history!! We were basically "dismissed" and told not to go back until I had lost 6 stone and my partner had stopped smoking for 4 weeks!! It is alright for the consultant to tell me to lose weight but I have two medical conditions that cause my weight gain and it is extremely difficult to lose weight; one of which is a Gynaecology condition that can cause infertility!! The consultant gave the impression that they didn't believe this either even though I was diagnosed 10 years ago but did offer me scans / tests to check how this condition was?? Was I offered serial scans to check my ovulation function?? No!! I had a miscarriage 8 years ago, when I was a lot heavier; have an extremely rare blood group; have been trying for 2 years and am over 35 but the consultant was not interested in the slightest! I will be complaining formally although they won't be bothered in the slightest! What makes it worse is that I work at the Hospital and under no circumstances will I recommend the Fertility Unit as it is very apparent you are judged / discriminated against before you are even seen!! Who do Consultants think they?!

Story from


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Many thanks for your comments posted on the NHS Choices website on 27th May 2015. We were extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience when you were seen by one of our Fertility Consultants and apologise for any undue upset that may have been caused. Unfortunately, without more personal details we are unable to respond more fully at this time. However, we note that you have indicated that you would like to raise this matter more formally and in view of this, if you have not already done so, we would suggest you consider contacting our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on Freephone 0800 783 7691 or via email on, who will endeavour to assist you in this respect. Many thanks once more for taking the time to provide us with this important feedback. Kind regards Patient Experience Team for Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read