"refused surgery"

About: Guy's Hospital

After arriving at the appointment time and having ni information,it was decided by the surgeon that surgery would be cancelled.After being there for 5 hours and being taken back in the cue 3 times.The surgeon claimed surgery was not required due to there not being enough reason to have it,even though the consultant made the appointment due to alarming symtoms.I find this very worrying that 2 proffesionals can diagnose so differently.I shall never return to this hospital a complete sham.I shall be making a formal complaint as this is clearly an issue that needs addressing.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Guy's Hospital

I am very sorry to learn that your surgery was not performed as planned, especially after a 5-hour wait. It is possible that you would be able to receive an explanation for what occurred more quickly by contacting the hospital’s PALS (patient advice and liaison service) rather than the Complaints department. PALS can also liaise with the department where you were due to be treated, so that you can discuss your health condition and treatment and – I hope – receive clearer and more positive information on next steps. PALS case be contacted on 020 7188 8801 or at pals@gstt.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful