"Appointment on time but....."

About: University Hospital Of North Durham

Attended physiotherapy with my son who is on crutches following a sports injury. Waiting area was heaving so expected a long wait. Was called to see physio exactly on appointment time, he was examined, given exercises and the whole appointment only took 15 minutes. Now the but...... I am a disabled blue badge holder and we needed the wider space to get out as my son has problems bending his leg. Appointment was 9.10, arrived at 8.55 to find all disabled spaces gone in main car park, drove into opposite car park to find 2 delivery vehicles parked in disabled bays- no sign of blue badges. Had it not been for another car pulling out we wouldn't have got parked.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to the University Hospital of North Durham and in particular the Physiotherapy department. I am very pleased to hear that you had a positive experience and that you are happy with the care your son received, but we have also noted the difficulties you had with finding an available disabled parking bay. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients, and your kind comments will be shared with the both the manager of Physiotherapy and also the Car Parking Manager to share with the staff on your behalf. I know they will be encouraged by the positive comments about your visit with your son. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful