"EPU a credit to the NHS"

About: Kettering General Hospital

I started bleeding at nearly 9 weeks with my GP surgery being closed I was sent to OOH. Here they tried fobbing me off and after being persistant they finally contacted EPU. They agreed to see me even though I was in the early stages of miscarriage. On arrival I was met by a lovely midwife who greeted me by name. The midwife then showed me to a waiting area that was not filled with pregnant women. On assessment they were concerned by the lack of care from OOH and went through the questions they should have asked. During the scan they were compassionate whilst honest. I was embarrassed by my level of bleeding etc but completely put to ease. Nothing was too much and with guidance, drugs and another appointment I went on my way. I then rang a week later to see if I needed to keep my appointment as I had miscarried by this point. Again the midwife was knowledgeable and reassuring. I am impressed with the service I received just a shame my primary care was poor prior to this point. Thank you so much EPU.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Firstly, I am so sorry you have had a miscarriage, I hope you are getting the support you need at this very difficult time. I am pleased to receive feedback that supports the need and appreciation for the care we give. The women and couples who use our service are aware that we can’t alter the outcome but we can provide you with support, honesty and realistic information, in order to prepare you for what may happen over the next few days. I am the midwife who cared for you when your arrived at EPU. I would like to thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to share your kind feedback with us. I will ensure your feedback is shared with the department. Take care Julia Jackson EPAU midwife

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful