"I thought the days of treating patients like..."

About: Trafford General Hospital

I attended the consultants OPD clinic on Friday 15 May. My appointment ran over by 1 hour 35 minutes, with no communication between the staff and the patients as to the cause of the delay and certainly no apology. At least 2 patients walked out. One man, who had been into clinic, was returned to the waiting area holding two dressings for his fingers and was told by the nurse they would return and dress his wound. An hour later they had not returned and when he complained it turned out that the nurse had retired from duty! Eventually when I was called in I saw a doctor who tried to fob me off with yet more physiotherapy, when the consultant had agreed that it was likely I needed a further operation to identify the source of my still considerable pain. I am grateful to consultant for their efforts and great skill, it is a shame they have been so let down by the staff running that clinic, they owe the consultant an apology. I will now ask my GP to refer me elsewhere.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to learn that your experience of the Orthopaedic Outpatient Department at Trafford General Hospital on May 15th 2015 was not as positive as we would hope and that you are planning to ask your GP to refer you elsewhere.

I would like to apologise for the delay and poor communication you experienced during your attendance at the orthopaedic clinic. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances on that day in question delays were experienced. Please be assured that we regularly review the efficiency of clinics to ensure they are managed effectively and patients are not inconvenienced by any delays. We apologise that on the day of your attendance this was not your experience. Your concerns will be discussed at the outpatient team meeting in August 2015 to reiterate to staff the importance of informing patients if any are experienced in the clinics.

It is difficult to respond to your concern in a full way, specifically about the clinical opinion you received, because of lack of detailed information. If you would like to discuss this with us in more detail, please contact out Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8688 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk

Outpatient Manager, Trafford General Hospital

Central Manchester University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust