About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

l am over 10 days overdue and despite being booked for induction on 7.5.15 this could not be done due to no beds.this was rearranged for 17.5.15 waited till 5pm to go in when arrived was told shift leader decided l was low risk and shd go to ward 1.l objected but was ignored.on ward 1 the midwife was confused was going to use slow release prostaglandin then Pe2 then changed to you dont need it will put you on waiting list for breaking waters but cannot tell wn this will be. They were aggressive and then gave me the most jabby painful 3x sweeps. They woke me up at 6am the next day to put me on monitor when l asked to go to the toilet they then disappeared and did not return.when l told new shift about 7.40 that l was still awaiting monitoring my midwife was informed and came storming angrily stating, 'l never said l was putting you on monitor love l was only going to listen to your baby' and then walked out. l was only placed on monitor after 10am when l had indicated that l wanted to go home as it was pointless for me to stay on ward awaiting for induction suite.i was told they needed to monitor me so shd stay but clearly they weren't so l went home. l am 41+4 today 18.5.15 and am at home with no clue when l will be induced.l hv to say that the person who who looked after me prior to leaving was kind and compassionate.but my experience thus far is very terrible.l had 3 chn at women's and my experience with first 2 is that care on wards under consultant care is rough.the midwives are uncaring.with 3rd baby l gave birth in delivery suite following putting in a complaint which the matron handled well and delivered my baby themselves. They were awesome. staff on wards need training on people skills. l am getting depressed and anxious with the advancing gestation and worry my placenta will age.l requested a Doppler and Lv and was told this is expensive and told to do to triage tomorrow 19.5 for trace which l made clear l was not willing to do given the long wait.l am fed up and feel the staff do not care and keep telling me there are other women at higher risk than me who are priority as if this is consolation to me.l even asked the chief midwife to be transferred to neighbouring hosp who may hv a space and they were dismissive.what happened to patient choice esp given bwh is unable to give a slot so why not let me go elsewhere. l will not recommend this hosp ever.l am so angry right nw and do not even want to go back there.l am also worried abt ward staff's attitude very uncouth and unprofessional.l believe l am getting depressed coz of this situation as cant stop crying.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your care. Please can you contact our PALS department on 0121 627 2747 as it may help you to discuss this issues you have raised with someone. We will look into the concerns you have raised and pass these on to the teams involved in your care. Thank you for taking the time to feedback and please do get in touch with PALS.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful