"colorectal outpatient"

About: Southmead Hospital

Had the misfortune to need haemroids banding on May 11th. Previously done at BRI 2 years ago. Have to say, despite hospital clean , bright and quiet, my experience was horrendous. I was rushed , spoken to quickly, the whole consultation and procedure took well under half hour. Was not told anything about pain or relief, just handed a leaflet. I honestly don't know how I walked to the car. No where does it say don't drive yourself, ! After getting to the car, throwing up with the pain, the rest of journey home with hubby is a blur, excruciating doesn't cover it . A week later, still sick, still in pain, trying to speak to someone on colorectal team. Sum up, aftercare awful, felt like on conveyor belt was so rushed :(

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Anonymous – I was sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the consultation and operation you received. I regret that you found the process to be rushed and that insufficient information was provided ahead of the operation. I have fed back your comments to the colorectal team. I hope that you were able to make contact and that the pain has now settled. If you have any further concerns you should seek the advice of your GP in the first instance and they will be able to escalate your care, or more easily contact the on call consultant in the colorectal area, to ensure your concerns are dealt with. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of the web site. Kind regards - Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful