"Highbury Hospital treatment"

About: Highbury Hospital

(as the patient),

I personally found Highbury to be awful compared to the recently closed QMC ward which had fantastic staff. The nurses on Rowan 2 (except a few good ones...) just sit in the office all day, they didn't give me the time of day, I feel especially because of a borderline personality disorder diagnosis.

I feel it's not safe for someone who is suicidal, ten minute checks don't exist even if they're meant to. I was admitted due to feeling incredibly suicidal and one of the nurses said to me that I wasn't suicidal, excuse me, try living 5 minutes in my head instead of being patronising.

I was also allowed to go out for 15 minutes alone, but I was gone for over 2 hours offsite hurting myself; not one staff member noticed. I found the HCAs to be much more understanding and caring, though a few had the nurses cold hearted attitude. Overall I would ask to be sent to the other side of the country for a bed rather than go back on Rowan 2. The facilities are nice though.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Involvement Team , Involvement & Experience, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

I was so sorry to read about your experience on Rowan 2 at Highbury and that you would not want to be admitted to the ward/site again. I was concerned to read about staff who you feel ‘didn’t give you the time of day’ as the ward environment should always be about supporting your recovery.

I have already spoken to the staff on the ward about this and your account of being alone and offsite for two hours. I have agreed with the ward manager to talk about your feedback at team meetings and staff supervision sessions.

I am glad to see that some HCA’s were caring but it is clear that Rowan 2 was not a positive experience so please accept my apologies.

I would like to meet with you so that we can go through the issues you have raised and see where we can make improvements to avoid this happening again.

Nottinghamshire Healthcare Acute Services try to always deliver a high standard of care but at times like this we need to look at any concerns raised and work together to put them right.

Please be assured we do appreciate your feedback as this is the best way of improving our services.

Please get in touch

My contact details are


Telephone Number 01159934585

Response from Ruth Gadd, Acting Service Manager , City Crisis Team, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS trust

Thank you for taking the time to post your opinion. It saddens me to hear that your experience wasn't as positive or helpful as you had found on your previous admission to QMC.

I will feedback your comments to the Ward Manager on Rowan 2, I would welcome an opportunity for us both to meet to discuss your concerns in more detail and maybe we can look at suggestions that would help improve the service and of course to offer you some reassurance.

I am pleased to hear that you did find some of the nurses helpful and that the HCA's were understanding and caring.

Once again thank you for posting your opinion.

Kind Regards


My contact details are, ruth.gadd@nottshc.nhs.uk

mobile 07909 686169

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Alison Harrison, Service Manager CRHT, Local Services, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

In my role as Acting Service manager I have reviewed your concerns.I'm sorry that you have had a negative experience but thank you for raising your concerns as it enables us to reflect and improve on our sevrice.

Rowan 2 have been working on their improvements, they have regular team meetings which embody complaints and they are used to relect and improve on the service that they provide.All staff have regular clincial supervison on a monthly basis from a senior member of the team. Regular audits take place.The matron has worked with the team to look at various standards.and improve communication through the team. They has also been a lot of work on recruitment in recent months.Rowan 2 is planning to have an away day in the spring to continue to enhance their practice and team working.

Once again thank you for your posting. Please dont hestitate to contact me if you wish

Alison Harrison 0115 9691300 x 12085

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story