"Absolutely awful"

About: Royal Preston Hospital

I would not recommend this unit to my worst enemy. Firstly, Ill start with the cleanliness.. Or lack of it. On my first visit, the sheet on the bed had a large red blood stain, which I felt uncomfortable telling the nurses about. On my second visit, there was a similar dark brown stain on the sheet, I thought it was utterly disgusting, how they expected me to lie on this stain, which I like to point out, didn't come from myself. Secondly, I was first admitted as an emergency referal from my GP. It was mid afternoon on a Friday, about 4.30pm, and the doctor had just gone into emergency surgery by the time I got there (that is fair enough, no complaint there). However I spent a further 6 hours sat on the dirty bed waiting for tests to be done, to then be discharged with no further investigation into the problem I had gone with. No scan, no blood tests, nothing. I sat there and wasted 6 hours of my life, for nothing. I was still in immense pain the day after, and had to attend the emergency doctors who made another referal for me. I attended this gynae unit again, where they did one test on me, and then I was discharged. I have heard nothing since. 3 weeks has passed and I am still in horrendous pain, and I am now on the waiting list for an appointment in a month at a different hospital. I would not recommend this unit to anyone.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rhona Hartley, Head of Patient Experience and Customer Care, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for providing your feedback. I was extremely concerned to read your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss the points you have made further. If you are happy to do so, can I ask you to please contact me on 01772 522793.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Royal Preston Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were so sorry to read of your experience and would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have raised in more detail. If you would be willing to do so, can we ask you to please contact the Customer Care Department on 01772 522521

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful