"digusted with the attitude of staff and how i was..."

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

I was admitted as an emergency case after having my drink spiked. I had 1 drink when this happened. I have two severe medical conditions. I had a fit and an ambulance was called. I was treated by the hospital staff as if I was a waste of their time and it was my fault. They took no bloods to check what I was given, no test to see if there would be any long term effects or if I needed any type of treatment. I was lucky to have a friend come along to hospital to see if I was ok. When staff were told I had crohns and a serve liver disease, the nurse turned round and said "oh maybe its just a flare up" remembering I had just had a fit!! I was left in a room with my friend, due to my crohns and been unable to stand I had an accident, this was left to my friend to clean me up change me. N staff would come near!! At 6.00am my friend was told she had to leave after been there 4hrs. I asked and asked the nurse to contact my mum, my next of kin, and they said there was no need. At 8.00am I was given a blanket to wrap round my hospital gown as clothes were stained from my previous accident and told a taxi was outside to take me home. I had no money but told they had phoned my friend and it would be sorted the other end. My friend had missed the call and wasn't aware. I left the hospital in this state with no advice on if I had any after effects. The staff treated me like a low life and a waste of their time. I am writing this to try and make staff aware not everyone takes drugs, not everyone drinks alcohol, and there are genuine people who are victims. Show some respect. Not once was my medical history taken into account.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn of your poor experience in the Emergency Department at the Manchester Royal Infirmary and that you were made to feel that your attendance was your fault. It is important to us that comments are heard and seen as an opportunity provided to the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible.

In response to your comments, I can tell you that we have highlighted to the Emergency Department staff our clear expectation that all staff help patients when they require care, especially if they need assistance for personal care. We are very sorry that staff did not call your mum after you requested her to be contacted. While it is not standard practice to contact patient’s next of kin if they are able to do so themselves, it is not acceptable that staff failed to ring her after you requested.

It is difficult to respond fully to all posts, often because of a lack of detailed information. Therefore if you would like to discuss this with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk