"My emergency experience"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

Firstly I would like the thank my lovely girlfriend for looking after me, if it was not for Her, I would not be here now! Now then....I had a minor operation to remove an abscess in the lower tummy, it is normal for the wound to be open and be re packed on a daily basis, I was complaining of high temperature and flu like symptoms shivering in 80 degree heat for days, it was brushed aside, they said oh well there is a lot of it about. No checks or monitoring were done until after I complained again at my doctor and finally they did some blood tests, the doctor phoned me a few hours later and said you have blood poisoning, get yourself to hospital right now. Upon arriving at hospital at Darent Valley, they were so busy I lay on a dirty floor next to a waste contaminated bin for 5 hours as there were no beds or staff to deal with me. I finally got seen and had IV antibiotics and kicked out the door the next day, no examination or scan was carried out, they just prescribed more antibiotics, I now have 10 bottles of antibiotics to complete at home and still have to go to surgery every day to have to original wound re packed and dressed until it heals. I am seen by a so many different people they don't have a clue, My experience of the NHS in my area is disgusting! Animals get better treatment at the vets!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

We are extremely concerned to read about your treatment when you visited the A&E department and would like to investigate exactly what happened. Both of the postings, yours and your girlfriend’s, are anonymous which means that we have no way of identify and tracking your patient pathway. We would urge you to contact us directly so that we can look into exactly what happened and respond to your concerns appropriately. We strive to ensure that every patient coming into this hospital receives high quality compassionate care and we need people to contact us and share their experiences with us when this has not been the case. We can take the necessary action and make improvements. Kind regards The Communications Team Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful