"poor communication in rheumatology department"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I cannot believe in this age of technology that patient notes and test results cannot be shared between outpatient departments. I have had appointments in Oakham and LRI and my notes are not available in both clinics. Consequently each time I have an app. usually with a different medic each time they do not know anything about me. Last March I had an echocardiogragh and lung function tests and up to date have not had any results! The last medic I saw ( after a wait of 2 hours in OP ) said they must have got lost, this is not helpful after a stressful wait. These will now have to be repeated. The treatment I received in medical day ward was excellent the staff were all informative and made my week of treatment a positive experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We are sorry to hear your frustrations about patient notes and that you have not received test results from last March, but glad you had a positive experience recently in the medical day ward. We would like to investigate your concerns about your test results further so we can improve our service for future patients. If you are happy for us to do so, please send your details (name, address, date of birth and hospital number) to me by emailing carmen.gill@uhl-tr.nhs.uk. One of our key objectives as a Trust is to introduce electronic patient records across our three hospitals, but this process will take time. We have now chosen a preferred provider and will be working with them closely to roll out the system in the next two years. Kind regards, Carmen Gill Team Leader for Rheumatology Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful