"Surgical Pre-assessment"

About: Wharfedale Hospital

Appointment for 11.00 finally got out at 12.25, saw a member of staff at 11.10 then referred to a nurse, about 11.25 put in waiting area, which is in face a glorified corridor. Finally got to see a nurse about 12.15, told after complaining about the wait, notes had to be read and other patients to see first. Unfortunately, there was not much sign of the other patients and in addition, when it was suggested, they could have put their head round the door to tell us notes had to be read and therefore was taking some time. This suggestion was not appreciated. When we complained about the wait and said we should have gone elsewhere the nurse agreed there were nearer hospitals to our home address, and maybe we would have been seen quicker at one of their clinics. Finally got out at 12.25 but told we needed to go for a blood test and ECG, however, we found both Departments closed for dinner between 12.30 and 1.30. This must have been known by the pre assessment member of staff who did not tell us of this. As my wife is in a wheelchair I was obviously pushing her and getting around the hospital is ridiculous a lack of disabled friendly doors within the building and inadequate space in the waiting are for wheel chairs. All in all a terrible experience of this hospital. Though a very helpful member of staff did inform us blood test could be done by GP.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Shaun Cohen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your views, I am very sorry to read that you had such a poor experience.

I have passed your comments to Wharfedale Hospital so that they can address the concerns you have raised; In regards to a different hospital being more appropriate for yourself I would advise that in future you contact the Trusts Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net who will be able to look into these options for you.

With kind regards

Rosie Horsman

Senior Nurse

Patient Experience