"Absolutly traumatized about experience on ward 3..."

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

I went into hospital to be induced however. my waters had broken, after consulting with the midwife they assured me it hadnt. When i was taken to the maternity ward to have my waters broken, they had told me that they had already gone and i had been 1 whole day with broken waters and prone to infection. I was then given IV antibiotics which distressed my baby making her heartbeat go down. it was then decided to take me for an emergency section which i beieve could have been prevented if staff had been more vigilant and actually listened to me. Despite this after i was moved to ward 3 i found the staff extremely rude. one midwife even picked up my baby and shouted at her saying to her to stop crying as she is keeping the ward awake. i also felt if the midwifes were not going to look after the patients or the babies then they should atleast allow a member of family to stay. obviously it was difficult for me to hold my baby as i had been through major surgery recently. and at a time like this family is needed most not rude hospital staff. the department made me severely depressed. The midwifes were not helpful and were very rude. overall my experience has been extremley traumatic.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

We would like to apologise for the trauma you have experienced in our hospital and we would be very grateful if you are able to make contact with our PALS Team on 0121 627 2747. They provide confidential support, a friendly listening ear and can also look into some of the issues you have raised. Your comments will be fed back to the teams in Maternity and the wards. Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we hope that you can get in touch with us.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful