"Wards, cleanliness and staff maternity wards"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

I recently had a baby at bwh, the wards are disgustingly filthy. walls are black with foot and hand prints, I felt like I was in a third world country, I spoke to a nurse who laughed my comments off and told me it was a hospital not the Hyatt hotel! If I wanted it clean I should get up and clean it.

When I was brought in to be induced (as an emergency) the delivery room I was put in was disgusting. the toilet was covered in the last patients blood. the toilet was shared with the corridor and the next delivery suite. worrying about locking doors while trying to clean up after delivery was ridiculous.

Staff seemed worn out and were overworked. No one could give any facts which I found through out the 9 months of care. I was discharged 24 hours later and a week later my baby ended up in Birmingham children's hospital after suffering a cardiac failure which should have been picked up on the many of scans I had and before we were discharged but they failed me and my baby.

Patients are left on the ward with no support from nurses after having a baby they are just told to sort baby out! Two new mums on my bay was reduced to tears I had to help them breastfeed and change the child.

In all I would rather give birth in the street then here!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's NHS Foundation Trust

We would like to thank you for feeding back about your care and we are very concerned to hear about your experience. Please can you contact our PALS Team on 0121 627 2747 as it may help to talk to someone and we can also investigate the issues you have raised.

Your comments will be passed onto the teams involved in your care. We are often praised on the cleanliness and hygiene at Birmingham Women's and our housekeeping staff work extremely hard so it is very worrying to hear your comments about the hospital environment.

Thank you for taking the time to comment, patient feedback is very valuable and we hope that you can get in touch.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you for posting your comments and we are very concerned to hear about the cleanliness issues as well as the comments you received from staff. Your feedback will be raised with our Senior Managers and the teams involved in your care. We are sorry to hear about your experience as our hospital cleanliness and high quality care are very important to us. If you would like to discuss the issues you have raised so that we can look into them further. Please have a chat to our PALS Team on 0121 627 2747. Thank you Birmingham Women's Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful