"hip arthroscopy at harrogate hospital"

About: Harrogate District Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

Less than two weeks ago I had Hip Arthroscopy, I was under the impression that a particular surgeon would be doing the surgery as that is who I had all my pre opp appointments with. although on the day of the surgery I was introduced to another surgeon who I had never met before? the morning after the opp the morning staff come in and usher us all out of bed to go get showers then as soon as we get back our beds have been stripped? Then the surgeon spends not even 2mins with me explaining what he actually did in surgery so I am still none the wiser at what he found whilst in there.

Then physio check I can walk up 3 stairs then go. Then I'm sent down to the discharge lounge. I think its disgusting I feel its all a big money making scam as Hip Arthroscopy is a new surgery which you need funding for so they are trying to get as many of us in and out as quick as they can!

This hospital is nearly three hours away from where I live and if I had known the way I would be treated I would not of chosen Harrogate! I also asked for a sick note on the ward but was never given one, and now have also been told because I missed my first physio app that I am now discharged. I would never recommend anyone use this hospital.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Communications and Marketing Manager, Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Hello - firstly, apologies for the delay in responding to you comment.

We are sorry that you are unhappy with the service you have received. On the ward we do encourage people to rehabilitate as quickly as possible so that they can return to their own home/previous residence. We are sorry, however, if you felt rushed.

Regarding the physio appointment, the services are heavily over-subscribed and so we have a policy of discharging patients if they do not attend without providing reasonable notice.

If you would like to discuss this further with us please contact our Patient Experience Team on 01423 555499 or thepatientexperienceteam@hdft.nhs.uk. The team will be happy to assist you.