"Poor Inpatient experience"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Although the Consultants and Doctors I met were excellent, and the Outpatient services all seem pretty good as well, the Inpatient experience at Stoke, was one not to be repeated. Having had major surgery at Wycombe and the excellent services and inpatient care on the surgical ward there, I didn't believe the bad press about Stoke, well it is true at least for the post surgical ward 16. 1. The call button was put out of my reach (or left out of reach) and I wasn't show how the bed worked to raise and lower it for comfort. At Wycombe I was shown both these things and the call button placed in reach. 2. At night the ward lights in Ward 16, were not switched off, so it was harder to sleep. I asked and was told they would be switched off 'later'. At Wycombe they are routinely switched off at night. 3. A patient was calling out in distress for around an hour during the night shift, initially a nurse came but then they left her alone. At 2:18am I got out of bed and could only find an HCA who said they didn't know where the on duty doctor was. I said I would complain and then a Doctor did arrived but looked like they had been called out of theatre (and not the 24/7 on duty Doctor?). The doctor put the patient on oxygen and said she was also dehydrated and fixed up a drip. But neither of these things were picked up by the nursing staff. She then calmed and was able to sleep and so where the rest of us as the HCA also kindly switched off the lights at that time, when asked. They said the nurses never switch off the lights at night. 4. I was close to the nurses station/reception and so could hear confidential information about patients as the ward door was also left open. 5. Someone did come to clean the floor, pushed a soft broom around, coughed a bit and left, the floor was no cleaner. 6. A nurse examined my wound turned their head to cough into their hand then used the same hand to continue their examination, without using a cleaning gel. 7. Food came with a very tight fitting plastic film, it was hard for me to open, someone infirm would have a problem. Surely the food they serve needs to have the plastic film removed and if the patient is asleep then cover it with a easy to lift plastic cover. There were two people who did provide good care. Otherwise the apparent lack of care, and support given to in patients as very poor. This is only inpatient and hard to believe that this hospital and Wycombe are under the same Buckinghamshire NHS trust management. As above Outpatient clinics and treatments plus Consultants and their teams provide very good care, but are let down by the wards.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Anthony Banton, Patient Experience Manager, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Responder

I am sorry that you have had a poor experience of patient care whilst using our services. You have highlighted concerns that may require further an investigation and we will be happy to help with this. I have forwarded your complaint to the complaints team so they are aware of your issues. However, we will require more information from you to launch an investigation. Please contact me on my direct telephone number-01494734481 to discuss your experience and forward your complaint.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful