"Bad state of affairs"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

After having to have the misfortune to go into hospital on a number occasions recently.I feel compelled to review, on an assessment ward of mixed bunched patients, the basic principles of care. A person presented themselves to read of a list of a menu, I assume for efficiency reasons, for the administration staff to understand why patients are not eating and drinking. Two of three of us (Third nil by mouth). Unbeknown to us as we were ill! food had been plonked on a table, I was woken by noise to turn and hi the tray shoved towards me at some point to meet with a crash, subsequently disturb everyone else. Looking at the cover cold soggy condensed food, luckily good old school sponge and custard. When I was asked why I had not eaten, I said Had I seen the menu instead, I would not have chosen what was put in front of me, the elderly lady next to me agreed that is why she had not eaten her dinner, she was a diabetic. I took the opportunity to ask for a hot drink as it was cold,could I get my own? No ! It never materialised. Whilst I acknowledge that people were ill it was distressing for me and to see a lady (who probably had a water infection, her family were told).Who was clearly disorientated by the noise of 8 people around a patients bed, announced she was looking for the toilet on getting to the end of the bay was turned around by a person in a uniform, no indicator of their role as badges (must remember reading glasses in next emergency admission). The poor lady was sent back to her bed, only to get there and realise she needed the toilet. At this point I was also upset by the noise looking for refuge to be pointed in the direction of the day room, supporting the other half of the 8 people in the bay. Please who ever has any concern for all patients give consideration to all, would it have not made sense to talk to the large family in one place in the patients lounge? I am sure the dear lady with her relatives around her would have not heard as much as we did and I hope she got her ice cream from home ordered by the youngest son to his sister in law and that it was only a small one as requested. To all those fellow bay patients I hope your care improved as we all were taken off to beds to be treated.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Feedback, both good and bad, helps us to shape and improve our services for the future. We would like the opportunity to learn from your experiences on this ward, however, as you haven't mentioned which ward/unit you were staying on, it is difficult for us to share this with the matron and managers at this moment in time. If you would be kind enough to contact us at communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with further details (i.e. the name/number of the ward and your details), we would be more than happy to pass this feedback on and ask someone to discuss these observations with you. Kind regards Laura Mort Communications Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful