"Lack of service over bank holiday weekend"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

I attended WGH A&E department on the Saturday morning of the Easter weekend as I was pregnant & had started to bleed. Being my first pregnancy my partner & I were concerned and wanted reassurance that our baby was ok. Due to it being bank holiday we were told the earliest we could have a scan would be Tuesday because I was not displaying signs of an ectopic pregnancy or heavy bleeding. I can't fault the staff, they were very pleasant and we weren't kept waiting a long time however I think that is too long to wait under these circumstances. Unfortunately when we did have the scan on the Tuesday we were told we had miscarried and had to endure a further week for a rescan to confirm the miscarriage. This has been an extremely stressful & upsetting experience. I know that being scanned earlier would not have changed the outcome but being left over a long weekend not knowing what was going on has made me consider where I chose to have my ante-natal care in the future.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Madam, I am so sorry to hear about your loss - such devastating news for you and your partner. I am also deeply sorry about my delay in getting back to you. I have had some problems accessing the NHS choices website so I have missed all posts over the last 2 weeks - I apologise for this because I usually like to respond as quickly as I can. The content of your review makes this all the more important. I am so sorry that you had to wait for a scan over the bank holiday weekend - I can fully understand why the prolonged wait for confirmation of your miscarriage must have been so distressing for you. It is the last thing we would have wanted you to experience in such sad circumstances. Our new emergency care hospital will over a very different level of cover over a 7 day working week and whilst this is exactly why we want to see this development within our organisation, I can appreciate that none of that benefits you right now. I will ensure your review is shared with our teams so that we can all appreciate how distressing it can be to have to wait for care or treatment. Once again I am so sorry about the loss of your baby - I do hope that you are getting all the support you need at this time. With sincere condolences, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful